Photo Love Friday – Splash!

This past summer, my kids and I spent several afternoons in a friend’s pool. The kids had a blast! I was regretting not bringing my camera one day, so I settled for my iPhone for a few quick snaps. (well, maybe more than a few…) I was very pleased with how those photos turned out! I was very surprised and happy!

I ended up with 9 photos that I wanted to put on a layout. I couldn’t narrow it down further. To fit that many photos on a layout, a single page layout at that, I used my photo editing software to help me. I opened a 4×6 new file, and resized my photos to make a collage that fit within those parameters. The layout only uses two 4×6 photos. The first photo has one 4×4 and two 2×2 images. The other photo is comprised of six 2×2 photos.

splash

I love how this turned out! I used strips of patterned paper at the top and bottom to draw your eye into the layout. The splashes are fussy cut from mirrored paper. I glued down the pointed end, but used a pop dot under the other end to make the splashes come alive. Some enamel dots were the perfect accent and enhanced the ‘wet’ theme of the layout. The bright happy colors and smiling kid faces make this one a favorite layout!

You’ve still got the weekend to get your embossed project linked up to our Monday Challenge! Take some time to be creative and link up! See you Monday with a new challenge and this week’s featured entry from our second challenge!

Leave a Reply

