Make Something Monday #2

It’s the start of the second week, now, and I hope that last week’s posts inspired you to make some craftiness of your own!

We only had one link up last week, but I know this is a new challenge series. I hope that more people are able to join in this week! Before I share the new challenge, let’s see the submission we had for the last link up.

moni card
This is Monica’s card. I adore those teal butterflies! They give just the right pop of color and I just love them! Thanks for joining in, Monica! Monica has a new blog started, and I hope we’ll see more of her beautiful creations again soon!

Ok, I know you’re wanting to know this week’s challenge……and it’s EMBOSSING!  I think embossing is so cool! It’s so easy to do, but has a huge wow factor! To enter this week, you need to make a card, layout, or any project that has embossing on it. (mixed media would be awesome with some embossing!) It can be either wet embossing, dry embossing, or both!

Here’s an easy card that has both types of embossing on it:

embossed card

I dry embossed the bottom portion of the card by selectively using an embossing folder in my big shot. I figured out where I wanted the silver glitter tape, then tried to emboss a phrase above that. I forgot to use a powder tool to eliminate the static, and ended up with a less than desirable result. boo! I then cut off the top portion, and spliced on a new piece of cardstock to make it the original size I started with. The glitter tape covers the seam. (the photo shows the seam, but it must have caught the light just right – it’s not noticeable in person.)

detail embossing

I then covered a piece of raw chipboard with embossing ink and used white embossing powder to cover it. This gave me a shiny white element that was perfect for adding my greeting. I added a few silver stars that matched the greeting, and mounted it all onto the card base. The above photo shows all the dimension in the dry embossing, too!

Of course, Sam is joining me again this week on the challenge! She’s awesome! 😉 Go visit her blog to see her creation!

Here’s how the challenge works: Create a NEW project with EMBOSSING and link your blog post below. Take some time out of your week and be crafty! I can’t wait to see what you make!

(I will be making some changes to the blog soon to allow the thumbnails to be listed at the bottom of the post. Please click through to go to the linky page.)

Challenge Rules:
*If it’s a color challenge, be sure to feature the colors in the challenge, additional colors may be added as accents.
*Limit of 3 projects linked per challenge. Each submission must have a unique link. Do not upload multiple submissions with the same link.
*Only link new projects.
*Please provide a link back to the challenge on your blog post.
*We reserve the right to remove any posting that does not meet this criteria.

7 thoughts on “Make Something Monday #2

  1. Pingback: Tried something new… | where life meets art

  2. Pingback: Photo Love Friday – Splash! | where life meets art

Leave a Reply

