Birthday Cards

Is anyone else looking forward to a relaxing weekend? I know I sure am! We are busy trying to finish up getting ready for a new school year. This summer has flown by so quickly!

Because time to create is always at a premium, it’s nice to have some cards made up and ready to go when you need them. Teresa Collins has a birthday collection called Celebrate that is perfect for some cute birthday cards and it’s freshly stocked at Scrapping Frenzy!

Here are three cards I made using the paper collection and adding just some black and white cardstock, some ink on the edges, and a bit of trendy tape.

This first card uses a bit of the coordinating transparency. The black stars have a sort of bluish hint on the “back” of the transparency, and I think it would be fun to use that side, too! I also can see this transparency being used on just about any boy layout! The trick to using transparency is to hide your adhesive, or to make attaching it decorative. You can use brads, a stapler, or sewing to adhere the transparency. If you glue it directly, like I did here, just hide your glue behind another bit of paper (like the strip here). I’ve also hidden my adhesive locations with embellishments such as stickers or flowers.

This card uses strips of paper and a fussy cut element from the You Are Invited paper. I didn’t need the pre-printed invitation blanks, but loved the graphic at the bottom of one of the invites, so I fussy cut the presents image and backed it with black card stock to allow it to show up better on the stripes I made from paper and trendy tape. I’ll let you in on a secret with this card – there’s a desperation cover up going on…. See that strip in the middle, the ornate black and white strip? Well, it’s actually part of the strip you cut off of your 12×12 paper. It’s part of Teresa Collins’ logo. And that part wasn’t long enough to span the card. So I cut it. And I hid the gap behind the presents, so you can’t tell. Now you know how to make a too short piece work!

This last card is probably my favorite. :)I love the orange stars, the wish paper, and the tiny cupcakes. The cupcakes were cut from that same invitation paper that had the presents. (the third graphic on that sheet is an adorable cake adorned with lit candles!) This card is so simple and easy to make but has great visual appeal! The cupcakes are raised on pop-dots.

There you go! Three quick and easy cards using Teresa Collins Celebrate line. I hope this inspires you to get creative and make some cards to keep on hand! Birthday, Thinking of you, and Thank you cards are always in need! Have fun crafting!

(supplies: Teresa Collins Celebrate Collection – You are Invited, Happy Birthday, and Banner papers; Teresa Collins Freestyle Collection Black Stars Transparency; White and Black Cardstock; Sticky Thumb Pop-dots and adhesive; Clearsnap Dark Brown Chalk Ink Cat eye; Queen & Co Trendy Tape)

Leave a Reply

