Logan is an NEHS member!

When I first started scrapbooking I always made two page layouts. Doing a single page layout was scary to me – I had no idea what to do with all that space! Today, I typically make single page layouts and find it harder to make a two page layout. For some reason, though, I’ve been drawn back to two page layouts! I’ve made several recently, and this new one is no exception.

My oldest son, Logan, was inducted into the National Elementary Honor Society early this year. The sponsor teacher called me and told me he would be inducted in the ceremony, but that they wanted to surprise the students and to not tell him. His name was the last one called and he seemed so surprised! I was a very proud mom that day! :)

He was presented with a certificate and lapel pin by the principal. The school took a group photo as well. The ceremony included a lovely candle lighting ceremony and a short presentation on each of the four values that NEHS upholds; service, scholarship, leadership, and responsibility.

I wanted to highlight Logan in the crowd, so I used a rhinestone gem circle to select him from the sea of faces.

Happily his dad and I are also right there – we were on the front row of the parents’ area, and the last empty seat when his name was called was right in front of us! I used some red gems to highlight the chipboard title letters and carried the rhinestone gem circles throughout the rest of the two page layout. Cutting the circles apart gave a more dynamic use to the circles and also allowed me to make it appear that there were many more circles. In actuality, there were only 4 total circles used, including the smallest one.

I took inspiration from a technique a friend, Suzanne, often uses and generated my journaling with my computer and a typewriter font. I then cut the journaling in strips and adhered to my journaling block. The paper used looks like graph paper – a perfect touch with school photos! The red color of all the school uniforms worked perfectly with this paper from Pebbles! A dymo label underneath adds the date and a border punch that looks like a spiral book edge gives more school-ish details.

The Pebbles papers were perfect for this school layout even though they are intended for the 4th of July! The reds and blues are printed on a soft tan background – not as dark as kraft brown, but heathered similarly – in a softer tan shade. This makes it great for just about any type of boy layout!

(Supplies: Pebbles Let Freedom Ring Collection – Charles Thompson and George Washington papers; Chipboard Letters; Cardstock – red, black, white; Clearsnap Chalk Cat Eye Ink – Blackbird, EK Success punch – binding edge, All Occasion Rhinestones, My Mind’s Eye Bohemia Gems, Dymo Label Maker)

Leave a Reply

