Layout of me and my sweetie!

We have a monthly sketch challenge over at Scrapping Frenzy, and each of the DT members have the same papers and have the challenge of making their own take on the sketch. It’s fun to see how each person adapts the sketch to their style and what papers they choose to use where on each one. Here is the page maps sketch we are working with for June:

I had a picture of my husband and I from Valentine’s Day in 2004. It’s not the greatest photo of us. It was cold and damp – the weather was awful. I wanted to scrap the photo anyway because it is a reminder of how much my hubby loves me. He surprised me by getting a sitter for the two boys and taking me out on a surprise date to Bellingrath Gardens to see all the beautiful flowers that were starting to bloom. We asked another visitor to snap a shot of us. 🙂 Here’s my take on the layout:

I love basic grey papers, and one of the supplies we were given was a sheet of this lovely complex pattern. I had seen a fellow DT member, Katie, fussy cut some of the patterns for a previous layout she made. I loved the look. BUT – you have to know, I’m not a fan of fussy cutting. Oh, I love how it looks. I love seeing other people using it. I just hate to do it! I decided to bite the bullet and just do it. I love the result!!! I substituted this fussy piece for the banner in the original sketch. Even though the photo isn’t great, the story and reminder of my husband’s love for me was the important part of scrapping this memory!  You can check out the other DT member’s takes on this sketch by clicking this link.

Leave a Reply

