New Altered Comp Book

Just a quick share of an altered composition notebook I made recently at a crop at my LSS, Scrapping Frenzy. 🙂

I used some polka-dotted felt and some corrugated cardboard to make my tree. The banner is made with some kraft paper and washi tape strung across the tree with some adorable twine. Twine and washi are so popular in the scrappy world right now – so are banners! I traced a chipboard bird onto some red paper and cut it out for my red bird. He needed a bit of definition, so I used some distress ink to give him some darker edges, then decided to add a simple pen line when I needed yet more weight to him. Buttons made some simple posy flowers and some twine made perfect stems. I used bundled sage distress stain to color the twine before using glossy accents to glue down the stems. This let me get a custom color for the stems. You can use inks of almost any type to color your twine. Just dry and heat-set it with your heat gun before using as usual!

I love how this book turned out! I really love the felt and sometimes have a hard time using it. A tip: The best glue I’ve found to use with the felt on my projects is FabriTac glue. No other glue seems to hold and work!

(supplies: Ruby Rock-it Upstairs Downstairs Romance and My Lady papers, Zig Pen, Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Fired Brick, Tim Holtz Distress Stain – Bundled Sage, Queen & Co Trendy Tape and Twine, Buttons, Zutter Corrugated Board, Ranger Glossy Accents, Clearsnap Chalk Ink Cat Eye – Creamy Brown, Creative Imaginations Green Felt, ATG Adhesive, Fabritac, K & Co. Smash Tape)

Leave a Reply

