Just Passing Through…

…Texas, that is! I took some photos in the Fall of 2006 when I was driving through Texas. I was driving through this quaint little town, and what I can only assume was Main Street, had the sweetest store fronts. The brightly painted buildings were all chippy and distressed looking, but for whatever reason, the image spoke to me, and I had to pull over and take some photos. At the end of this strip of buildings was a dilapidated building with crumbling walls, yet there was an awesome patriotic flag and message painted boldly… When I got this kit from 3 Scrappy Boys, I knew the colors would be great for these photos!

Here’s my layout:

I loved the bright blues and yellows in this kit and how they were perfectly tempered with the kraft brown. The only thing on this layout that didn’t come in the kit is the chipboard swirl by Maya Road. I could have taken some of the blue solid cardstock that was included in the kit and hand cut or had my silhouette cut a swirl, but this was faster and easier tonight. <wink>

I used crackle paint to paint a chipboard circle in the upper corner, and added some stitching for an extra bit of texture and a subtle frame. I used Peacock Glimmer Mist to color the chipboard swirl, and I also used a chipboard flower included in the kit as a mask and sprayed a bit of mist on the background for added layering. I used two bracket shaped calendars to make a shape to sketch around to get the shape around the word Texas. Just overlapping them made them the perfect size to add some visual interest and frame that simple word.


Even though these pieces weren’t directly used on my layout, you can certainly see their shapes reflected in the finished product! Always remember to look at your supplies creatively and you’ll be surprised at how they can be used!

Supplies: March 2012 kit from 3 Scrappy Boys; Maya Road Chipboard swirl; Clearsnap Creamy Brown Chalk Ink; Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist: Peacock; Tim Holtz: Distress Ink – Broken China, Distress Paint – Broken China, Distress Stain – Broken China (see a pattern? lol); Zig Writer: Pure Black; Ranger Glossy Accents; Scotch ATG adhesive; Beacon Fabri-Tac; Sewing Machine and Thread.

One thought on “Just Passing Through…

Leave a Reply

