One I love but forgot to share!

I can’t believe this has been sitting on my desk and I’ve neglected to share it!

I wanted to play around with the back ground and some of the new glassine paper I had gotten a while back. This is the result! I love this card!! I’m going to find it hard to give away!

Here’s a detail shot of those awesome chipboard gears and part of the butterfly.

It was quite a challenge to get the butterfly attached to the card. The glassine will not take glue! I resulted to using some liquid quick dry adhesive on the back of the gear and positioning it so that the gear overlapped and helped hold the butterfly in place.  Then I used some thin twine to wrap the card and hold the butterfly while lending an awesome texture and layer to the finished project!

For the background, I used a technique that while I had heard of it plenty of times, I had yet to create myself. I used Tim Holtz’s ‘Spritz and Flick’ to make the background.  First I took some Donna Salazar Blank Canvas (or you can use your favorite watercolor paper, too) and ran all four sides through the Distrezz-it-All to get that frayed grungy edge.

Then I used a blending tool and my craft mat to ink the whole piece with Broken China Distress ink to get an all over base blue color.

To give it more depth and dimension I then inked the edges with Faded Jeans, again using my blending tools and working from my craft mat onto the paper. I also used the blending tool directly on the edge to make the sides and all the texture of the frayed edges grab the color effectively.

Now is the magic part. The ‘spritz and flick’ is when you spray water into your hand to pool a bit, then flick it onto the paper. The results weren’t immediate for me, but the magic happens over the next few minutes as the ink reacts to the water droplets. I absolutely *love* the effect it gives. Even more depth and dimension, and SO effortless, really! Here are two samples I made to show. The smaller piece has a finer mist and few ‘flicked’ areas. The larger piece has much more water applied and reacted with the inks. You never know exactly what you’ll end up with, but I can promise you that it’s magic you’ll love!

Now you know how to make an awesome, fast, easy-but-looks-complicated-and-intense background for your next card or project!

Leave a Reply

