March 2012 Technique Challenge…

This month at Scrapping Frenzy, one of the challenges is to fussy cut an element for your page or project. We also have a challenge to use the color yellow. Using color on my layouts is easy for me, but fussy cutting? I really don’t like to do it. I feel like it takes too much time, and I’m impatient! I love how fussy cutting looks, but I always feel like it’s too tedious. I wanted to push my creative boundaries and make myself do some fussy cutting. Here is my submission for this month’s challenge:

I moved WAY out of my comfort zone with this project. I was challenged to make a mixed media art piece by my fellow Design Team member, Suzanne. I have to admit – I had an absolute BLAST making this, and can’t wait to do another mixed media art piece!

Since I wasn’t thinking this project would turn out at all, I didn’t document my progress as I was creating. I had so much fun adding layer after layer and seeing the finished project take shape. I’ll have to make another one in the future and take photos along the way, or maybe even make a video!

Here are a few detail shots of the finished piece…including some fussy cutting and the color yellow!

I hope this can encourage you to stretch your creative wings and try something new. You never know – you may just find that you love the thing that got you out of your box!

Scrapping Frenzy Supplies: Donna Salazar – Crafty Chronicle and All My Love Stamp, My Mind’s Eye – Abbey Road Papers, Echo Park – Victoria Gardens Papers, Zutter Corrugated Cardboard, Basic Grey – Out of Print Papers, Blue Cardstock

Other Supplies: Fast Finish Decoupage by Beacon, misc paper scraps, Tim Holtz Idea-ology Tissue Tape, Acrylic Paint, Liquitex Glass Beads Texture Gel, Golden Molding Paste, Helmar 450 Quick Dry Adhesive, Joint Compound Tape, American Crafts Sentiment Grid Stamp, paper from an atlas, Sharpie Pen in Blue, Pilot Permaball, misc rub-ons, Viva Decor Inka-Gold in Rose, Ink Jet Printer, Faber-Castell Pitt Artist Pen Big Brush

Leave a Reply

