Monthly Sketch Challenge // June 2011


Hi, Everyone! I’m here with my version of this month’s sketch challenge! I’m so excited to get to share a project with all of you! First – here’s a reminder of what this month’s sketch looks like:


I wanted to show how you can take a sketch for a 12×12 layout and make it work for an altered item that is not a square. Here’s my take on the sketch:


This is an altered composition notebook that has been covered in Donna Salazar papers and embellished. I love how it turned out! Let me share with you how I cover my composition books. There are several ways that crafters can cover them, but this method is the one I find works best for me.

First you want to measure the front cover of your book. I will be butting the paper up to the binding to make a smooth transition, so I measure from the binding to the edge. Then I trim my paper to slightly larger than the cover.

Cover the back of the paper with a spray adhesive. (This is very messy and stinky! I do this part outside, then run back in to adhere it onto the book!)

Align your paper with the edge of the binding, and slowly adhere it to the cover. Make sure if you are using a paper with a directional print, you pay attention to the orientation of the book/paper. You don’t want your design upside down! Rub firmly to adhere paper to cover.

You’ve still got the overage hanging off around the book. The way I get rid of that overage and make it look perfectly custom to the cover is by sanding. I use a sanding block and go all around the edge of the cover, sanding away the paper to trim it to the size of the cover.

Repeat the above steps to cover the back of your composition book. (You can also use the same steps to cover the inside of the covers if desired.)

Embellish as desired and make it your own! Here are some detail shots of the cover I made. I used some mini prints of Donna Salazar’s papers to make a collage on the front cover. Some pieces were embellished with Fairy Dust or Stickles. All the pieces were run through the Distrezz-it-All and inked with Chalk Ink.


Here you can see some of the glitz that was added to the papers. Fairy Dust on the chandelier, Stickles on some flowers and a bow, and Smooch Paint and Smooch Spritz on the butterfly.


Here’s an even closer shot to show how much shimmer the butterfly has! The Smooch Paint and Smooch Spritz is simply beautiful! This picture does not do it justice! The original book is in the store if you’d like to see it in person!


We want to see YOUR take on this month’s sketch! Check out THIS POST to see how to enter no later than June 30th. I can’t wait to see what your scrappy hands create!

Supplies – Scrapping Frenzy

  • Spring in Bloom by Donna Salazar
  • Antiquities by Donna Salazar
  • Color Catcher by Clearsnap
  • Smooch Spritz in River Mossy by Donna Salazar for Clearsnap
  • Clearsnap Smooch Paint – Frosted Aqua, Lettuce, Illuminate
  • Sticky Thumbs Adhesive
  • Fairy Dust by Donna Salazar for Clearsnap
  • Glue Gloss by Clearsnap
  • Colorbox Cat’s Eye Chalk Ink – Creamy Brown, Dark Brown, Chestnut Roan
  • Zig Millenium Pen
  • Stickles by Ranger – Fruit Punch, Pink
  • Distrezz-it-All by Donna Salazar for Zutter
  • Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist – Glacier

Other Supplies:

  • Composition Book
  • Sanding Block – Polar Block
  • Elmer’s Craft Bond Multi-Purpose Spray Adhesive
  • Pop Dots – misc.

Leave a Reply

