Got Spoons?


There is a story about spoons that describes a possible day in the life of someone with a chronic autoimmune disease. It is a story about how on any given day there is a limit to the energies available to spend, and you must choose your activities wisely. It’s hard to explain to others why you are limited on any given day. And also if you are not careful, how today’s activities may affect the number of spoons you have tomorrow. (read the story) Living with chronic pain or an ‘invisible disease’ is like that.


Why am I posting this? Today, May 12th, is Fibromyalgia Awareness Day. Here is some more great info about fibromyalgia (FM) if you didn’t get your fill on the previous link. 😉

As a person with FM, I never know how I’m going to feel when I wake up. Well, I take that back – I know I’m going to hurt, I always hurt the first 20 minutes or so. Whether or not I’m going to see some improvement is where the mystery comes in. I believe I’ve had FM for years, though I’ve only been diagnosed early this year. I thought the pain I experienced was normal – part of getting older. I didn’t realize other people don’t hurt like me. I’ve been doing pretty well. There have only been a couple days where I didn’t think I could get out of bed, and only two that I did stay in the bed. 😛 I’m still learning what I can and can’t do, or what I should and shouldn’t do.

I encourage everyone to be aware that just because someone doesn’t LOOK sick, doesn’t mean they aren’t. And to all the chronic pain sufferers – I hope you have enough spoons today to do the things you need, and a few extra to do something you want! 🙂

Leave a Reply

