Out with the new, in with the old….

Ok, we tried the new plastics storage idea. It’s not working well. I think I’m going to have to go back to the big bin, but with a new location. Here’s why it’s not working: See? Not enough room for the hodge-podge of containers. (and that’s not even all of them!)NOW, if I had the extra cash, I could just donate all these to GoodWill and go buy a nice new set of matching, stacks-neatly containers. Alas, the budget is not that flexible for now…..or the foreseeable future! ๐Ÿ˜› blech! Sooooo…..I think I’m going back to the old system of the containers in a large rubbermaid tote, and the lids in the smaller bucket. BUT I do have a new idea for a home for them….. um, I just had a thought, let me measure something first……whew! Looks like the bin will fit! Ok, here’s the new “new” plan. I’m going to put the plastics in the pantry! I already moved some lesser used appliances in there, and I love how it really frees up cabinet space. I’m just going to move around some other things, and get the plastics in there, too. The bin will fit on the floor under the bottom shelf. See?ok, it’s not letting me add another picture…what’s up with that? Figured it out….*blush* I still had spellcheck on. oopsie! So, this is the left and right side of the pantry…forgive the messy state of the floor – we discovered weevils in some of our dry goods last week, and this past weekend was spent transferring all our boxed and not securely sealed items into glass jars to vacuum seal. On a side note, did you know that a single box of mac n cheese, including the cheese packet, will fit in a pint size wide mouth jar? Huh, whoda thunk! Tonight we will be pulling the carpet out of there just incase the little buggers are hiding in the carpet just waiting for that next unsuspecting dry good to be invaded! There’s more hardwood under the patch of carpeting. The previous owner apparently just cut along the doorway and didn’t bother removing this patch. There’s a matching raggedy edge at the laundry room where another patch of carpeting remains. ๐Ÿ˜› Anyway – after that carpet is out, I think I’ll just move that bin into the pantry, and we can store the plastics there. Old system, new home. The vacated shelves in the kitchen will get the pots and pans that are crowding my single, small pot cabinet. I think I’m going to try to move the lesser used skillets and such to the shelf. That will make it so that there is more than ONE way to get all the pots in the cabinet, and easier to get to the one pot that you need without having to unload 4 other pans/pots first. Annoying, I tell you!

I also have an astounding list of things to do today. Why do I make such lists? It’s supposed to motivate me, but it often ends up leaving me feeling still overwhelmed. At least I get to cross stuff off! ๐Ÿ˜€ Here’s my list:

  • Start dinner in the crockpot. DONE – smelling wonderful already! New recipe – Thanks Shawndi!
  • Plan Meals for the next two weeks. DONE!
  • Fold Laundry in dryer
  • Do 2 more loads of laundry
  • Clean the living room
  • Blog. *almost* done, but still have more to do after the next item on the list
  • Photograph Jewelry
  • Clean off my desk, get the computer back on it. (um, I’m blogging from my bed.)
  • Dishes (another never-ending chore)
  • Vacuum seal the jars we loaded up
  • Make Banana Bread
  • Take the trash out (it’s full now, so this may get done twice today…we’ll see)

ok, now…..off to get busy again!

One thought on “Out with the new, in with the old….

Leave a Reply

