Feels like Monday

The kids were out of school yesterday due to the remnants of Gustav. Today is a normal school day, but after the long weekend and the extra day out of school, today feels like a Monday instead of Wednesday. Logan is home today, since he was up last night with his belly hurting. He thought he was going to be sick, but never produced anything. We kept him home since he was up during the night. I sorta wish I had sent him on – he seems fine. ๐Ÿ˜› Ty is at school, so I’ve only got three at home today.

My first battle of the day was with the stupid ants. With all the rain we’ve been getting, first from the normal rainy changing of the seasons (you know, from “hot as blazes summer” to “why is it hot as summer when it’s called FALL”) and second the extra rain from tropical systems, the ants are looking for higher ground. I guess my house looks like the welcoming ark in the high water flood, because this morning I entered the living room to find ants setting up camp. No, not the little annoying sugar ants – the big, mean as ever, fire ants. Yeah, I found out when one bit me on my toe! THE NERVE! I grabbed the vacuum, and sucked all the little guys up. HA – I WIN THE BATTLE. Um, nope….every 15-20 min, I was sucking more of them up – I swear they were coming in by the hundreds! There is no food in my living room, so they weren’t congregating in one specific place, they made a trail for a little space, along the side and front of the couch, then split up into a million directions – scouting for yummies. After a short while of this (I have *no* patience), I was googling how to stop ants from entering my home. I read that you can use dry laundry detergent to stop them! So I grab some of my cheapie laundry powder and sprinkle it liberally on the step. It seemed to slow them down, but certainly didn’t staunch the flow. I kept vacuuming them up, and waited to see if they would get the message. Apparently I am still not fluent in ‘ant-speak’ because they weren’t getting it. Ok, I tell the kidlings to get their shoes – off we go to Wal-Mart to buy some ant spray. Back home, I vacuum up the persistent (persistANT?) ants, and the powdered detergent. Then I spray the entrance liberally with pesticide. I LOVE THIS STUFF! LOL, it’s sad that killing ants should give me such joy. ๐Ÿ˜› The ants are gone – except for the ones in the vacuum canister – but DH will have to empty that one!

My next project is my kitchen. Ever since I’ve moved into this house (almost three years ago) I’ve been tweaking how I have my kitchen set up. It’s a smallish galley style kitchen. Smallish is being generous. If we are ever lucky/brave/stupid enough to go through the house buying process again (and that will entail also selling THIS house) I demand a beautiful, large, open kitchen! Anyway, I digress…. I’ve been tweaking the set up. I read something recently – perhaps in the past few months, that said to get more out of limited cabinet space, to move appliances to the pantry, if you have one. We have two closets in the hall, and one is a traditional coat closet. (complete with several cases of #10 cans stacked in one end) And the other is a walk in closet. When we bought the house, one side was shelves, and the other was a hanging bar. We used this closet as a pantry for canned/dry food items. About a year ago, now, we added extra shelves, so the shelves wrap around, and it pretty much doubled my shelving space! At first, my pantry looked SO bare – all my squished up stuff was spread out and organized. Then more things moved in, and it filled out nicely. ๐Ÿ™‚

Another problem I faced was the storage of my plastic containers. (tupperware, gladware, etc) In our last house, we had a large open shelf area under the microwave, and I threw all the containers into a large rubbermaid tub, and the lids were in a smaller rubbermaid tub. This worked well for that space. Here in this house, there is no where for my plastic-ware. SO, the plastics have been living in the rubbermaid tub in the dining room. This is really not working for us, but I’ve sorta had a block as to how to remedy the situation. When I read that you can move appliances to the pantry, a light went on in my head! I already had the crockpots in the pantry, why not move some other things in there? Today, I have moved the food processor, blender, hand held stick blender, and hand held cheese grater to the pantry. I also moved some glass casserole dishes to another area, since I wanted to put the plastic ware in a specific location that was occupied by those casseroles. I moved the “kid plates” to the back of the shelving with the sipper tops we rarely use, to free up a little space in the front for those dishes. (We have plastic dinnerware in the bottom cabinets, so little hands can set the table!) Now I have room in the bottom shelf of the upper cabinets for my plastics! I’m SO excited! I get to organize those and get them in a location that works so much better for my family! Right now I’ve got the empty room, and I just need to get the plastics organized in there.

I’m going to go make the kids lunch, and then load up the dishwasher, and organize plastics! I’ll try to post some pics later of the new organization!

Leave a Reply

